Quattro Sportive 2013

Legobrickman
Legobrickman Posts: 36
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Ok, so in a moment of stupidty i decided to enter this years Quattro sportive. I say stupidity as im aiming for the full 84 miles (If you're gonna do it...Do it properly) and it will be my longest distance to date. So far i'm up to 40/50 miles in one go.

Has anyone else done this and what is the course like?

Comments

• bokawel
    bokawel Posts: 8
    I think you should be fine. If you can do 40/50 miles in one go then you are nearly there. Next aim is to try 60, 70, 80 miles in your training. I think that will be the key.

I am also new in Road Biking, been commuting with my old FCR for a few months now and loving it. I will be joining two sportives this year, a 60km sportive and a 40mile charity ride. I will be doing some training in next few months leading to these events.
  • Seasoned experienced advice...

In my experience, riding 84 miles is a completely different kettle of fish to riding 40/50 miles. It's another 2 hours (maybe more) on the bike, and if you haven't ridden for that time before then it may be a struggle / uncomfortable. But don't panic, you've got a little time left. I'd suggest doing consecutive weekend rides of longer distances than you've ridden before (60miles+) just so you get a feel for what riding for that length of time if like. You can also get an idea of what pace you need to set to maintain your effort and how best to fuel yourself to last the distance. Build this up to the bank holiday weekend and get some decent length rides in on the Friday and Saturday. I'd taper it down for the rest of the week (maybe a couple of recovery rides on the Sunday and Monday, maybe 40 miles ish) to keep your legs fresh but rest for the days leading up to the sportive.