Uneducated fool needing advice

xchudy_1325
xchudy_1325 Posts: 85
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Hi guys my first post so ill try to keep it short and specific

Firstly I'm in the market for my first road bike, as a complete beginner my research points towards a cpl of entry lvl bikes, my main aim is to lose the weight and get fit

I'm stuck on the giant defy 5 and the specialized allez models.

That said I'm half looking at the defy 3/4 and the allez sport as well, but are. These too much bike for me?

I will be looking to do easy 50miles a week with a view to joining a club but not to race but to get out on the weekends and put serious distance in and see. Where we end up so to speak

So thanks for reading and if I'm completely wrong in the bikes I'm looking at for what I want to do please please help this uneducated fool out

Comments

• stinger53
    stinger53 Posts: 135
    they are both good bikes and great for beginning. go to your local bike shop and try them to see which you prefer riding. try all the bikes in your budget.
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Welcome to BR.

In a nutshell none of the bikes you mention are too much for you & should fit the type of riding your are looking to do.

At that price point you do have lots of other options some might not be that well know though such as boardman, ribble. Plus the others that are around the same price point.

Important thing is how the bike fits and feels as even a bike in the same size from a different manufacturer/model will feel different. I always suggest that people get on a the bike and try it out first.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • cauldo
    cauldo Posts: 6