Stair climb good cross training?

jameses
jameses Posts: 653
edited March 2013 in Road general
Just got back from a short-but-hilly ride (2500ft of climbing in 34 miles, with 3 climbs hitting 20% in places) and found it much easier than usual, not even having to get out of the saddle for Caerphilly mountain nearing the end of the ride.

I run a fair amount as well as cycling, but I find they don't help each other much (apart from the cardio side of things). However, a couple of weeks ago I took part in a charity event that involved climbing stairs to the equivalent height of the 3 peaks, and it pretty much ruined my thighs for a couple of days afterwards.

Would the muscular action of climbing stairs be similar to cycling uphill? Not really keen on just climbing stairs as training, but it might encourage me to get out to the Beacons and climb a few hills!

Comments

• VTech
    VTech Posts: 4,736
    Im new to exercise, but a few years ago there was a guy who got the world record for stair climbing on TV, apparently he had the worlds strongest legs (?) so it must be good for climbing on a bike where leg usage is paramount ?
    Living MY dream.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 43,292
    I read an article years ago that said climbing stairs is the closest form of exercise you can get to riding a bike without actually riding a bike as it uses the leg muscles in a similar range of movement. It could have all been BS but it made some sense.
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    I use the machine in the gym (or used to) that looks like a reverse escalator found it very good as a form of cross training for cycling and running.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • VTech
    VTech Posts: 4,736
    isnt a cross trainer the best calorie burner in the gym ?
    if thats the case, surely stair climbing will be similar and give excellent strength and fat burning.
    Living MY dream.
  • danlikesbikes