Scott Aspect 30 change of brakes

skybie
skybie Posts: 59
edited March 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Would it be posible to change my V-brakes to disc brakes? Any idea's how much it would cost? Is there any other good upgrades i could do to improve the ride or weight? I am new to cycling so i am learning so any help i will be greatful.
Fiona

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Does the frame, fork and wheels have mounts for disc brakes?
  • skybie
    supersonic wrote:
    Does the frame, fork and wheels have mounts for disc brakes?
    Sorry i don't know, how can i tell?
  • supersonic
    if you have a link tot he exact bike, or the year, I can find out.
  • skybie
    still looking for it, found very other one except my one.
  • supersonic
    You will need new wheels too, and I can't determine if the frame has disc mounts. In a nutshell is not worth it, much better to get a new bike.
  • skybie
    Ok thank you for your patiences and help. I better get looking :)
  • I've just made the same change to an old bike and would concur with the above that it ain't worth it from money point of view. If you did still want to do it you'd need to buy: new wheels and discs, hydraulic brakes, mounts for brakes and mounting bolts. I spent roughy £150 all told on parts from eBay but I needed new gear shifters as well which don't think you would do. Before I made the change I reckon the bike was worth about £150 and is now probably worth £180ish so not a good investment. That said, I'm still pleased I did it because I enjoyed doing it, the bike needed a new wheel anyway and it's now great to ride again.
  • skybie
    Thank's for the advice. Is there anything i could change that would improve the bike like with the weight or ride?