pros and cons of different tyre sizes?

nedmoran
nedmoran Posts: 53
edited April 2013 in Road general
I'm quite new to road cycling and have a giant defy 3. It came with 700 25c tyres and i was wondering what the pros and cons were between 25c and 23c. Also can i fit 23's to my wheels without any bother?

Comments

• danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Should have no issue with either set on your wheels.

25's tend to be heavier due to the larger size, give better grip due to wider footprint in contact with the road, slower to get up to speed due to the increased weight/increased friction

23's basically the above in reverse

I know people are going to jump in and correct me but am assuming the tyres are like for like etc
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • ellj22
    ellj22 Posts: 122
    Some argue that friction is reduced with a 25mm as the contact patch is wider but shorter. I doubt anybody really notices a difference. A 25mm has a greater volume and therefore can be ran at a lower pressure with less risk of pinch flat, this offers more comfort and traction. 23mm will run better on narrower rims ~20mm or less as the tyre is less likely to roll and squirm whereas on the new style of wide rim 25mm may fit better. Some pro's have moved to wider tyres to suit wider wheels which supposedly are affected less in side winds whilst still remaining aero, in this case a narrower tyre creates an unwanted gap between tyre and rim so their tyre size has increased.

Bare in mind that differences are minimal as we are only talking about 2mm here and some brands 23mm tyres will measure up the same as anothers 25mm.

25mm will probably suit the 'comfort' character of the defy a bit better but the bike can probably take anywhere from an 18-27mm tyre with compromises.
  • Lycra-Byka
    Lycra-Byka Posts: 292
    I have a defy 3 and changed to 23mm's after many miles. Personally, I found no difference.