which wheels!!!!!!!

Gaz7777gaz
Gaz7777gaz Posts: 18
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
hi cycling newbie here just about to submit my order for my new bike from ribble.but getting different veiws from my pals, i have two who i try and keep up with!one his a mavic fan and the other a bit in the middle i like the look og the campag wheels (vento)i am putting all campag groupset on as well(centaur)they are both telling me about the weight of the wheels i am 13 ,5 stone so would 600 gram make that much difference. aksium vs vento or would i be fine on the khamsin? i cant get my head round the weight thing is it that inportant i could lose 600 grams having a crap! :? please help me out i need to order this bike!cheers

Comments

• schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    it takes less effort to accelerate with lighter wheel as there's less mass to spin up. The down side is that they have less inertia so lose momentum faster. Heavier wheels keep turning longer (think of a flywheel).

Depends what you want/need.
  • pride4ever
    pride4ever Posts: 510
    No it doesnt matter, it would be cheaper and a million % more beneficial for you to simply lose weight. Always makes me smile when I pass people on hills on full carbon posh rides that weigh 6 kgs yet the rider is way overweight. At 9st 10 my ride at 9kgs is lighter than 99% of cyclists. People forget the human body is where most of the weight lies. Get whatever wheels you think look better on the bike bro.
    the deeper the section the deeper the pleasure.
  • VTech
    VTech Posts: 4,736
    pride4ever wrote:
    No it doesnt matter, it would be cheaper and a million % more beneficial for you to simply lose weight. Always makes me smile when I pass people on hills on full carbon posh rides that weigh 6 kgs yet the rider is way overweight. At 9st 10 my ride at 9kgs is lighter than 99% of cyclists. People forget the human body is where most of the weight lies. Get whatever wheels you think look better on the bike bro.