cassette compatiblity

chatlow
chatlow Posts: 848
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Hi I'm very new to all this and loving my new commute to work. Just need some advice on buying a new cassette.

I have a 2011 claud butler san remo. it has a 13/26 tooth 8-speed cassette, 39/50 tooth chainset and shimano 2300 rear deraiileur.

I was looking at a cheap shimano hg-51 8 speed 11/28 replacement cassette. Would this work with my bike? Be nice to have a p!ss easy gear for the dodgy hills around here and a slightly faster gear when needed.

Would get a new chain to go with it so would a KMC Z8S 8 speed work?

Sorry to post a question on my initial post!

Thanks,
Rod

Comments

• keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Should be a straight swap. And the KMC 8 speed chain will be fine. Just make sure it's the right length having installed the new cassette.
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    2300 rear mech max teeth is 26 I think, so maybe you would need to get a tiagra 4600 rear mech
  • chatlow
    thanks all. sounds like the deraiileur is just about ok with it.. hope the crank will be. wont open the chain box until i have the new cassette then. is there an easy way to work out what size chain i will need?
  • zx6man
    oxoman wrote:
    My 2300 rear mech is currently running a 11 to 28 rear cassette no problem, i think it was a couple of links extra on the chain, but i replaced the chain at the same time as the cassette anyway.

Ox, got a pic of it on the 28T? If its ok I may well get myself a 28T.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    You could conceivably have to fiddle with the B screw to ensure the upper jockey wheel doesn't foul the largest sprocket, but I'm pretty sure it will work.
  • i believe the carrera tdf is 2300 and thats my bike and i have had no problems when i got a 11-28 fitted but 28 is the max it will go to before you need change the rear mech.
  • zx6man