Newbie wanting a budget bike for short commute :-)

Bekki2308
Bekki2308 Posts: 5
edited March 2013 in Commuting general
Hi all,

I am Beks nice to meet you all. I will apologise in advance im a total noob when it comes to bikes having only ever owned childrens bikes then an ancient rusty steel framed thing that was bought for a 6ft 5 relative (im 5ft7, 33 in inside leg) so I have never owned anything other than awful bikes.

I need a bike for a 10 mile round trip a day on flat cycle routes 5 days a week and a 20 mile round trip once a week, I just get sick of being on over crowded busses that are late and go really long routes, it could actually be very much quicker to just cycle. I have a limited budget of £250 max for the bike, I am aware I am not going to get a quality bike for such a little amount but alas its all I have and hopefully by avoiding the lowest price £80 bikes im going to get something just about ok? I dont need a bike that will last a long time partly because it will be stored outside and also it will be chained up in public places so I dont want it to look flashy either. Halfords is my closest bike shop and I am going to have a look there tomorrow as its just around the corner, they do a carrera crossfire 1 for £249 in a sale is this even worth looking at? In terms of money buying a cheaper bike and then upgrading parts over time is something I could do really.

If anyone has any recommendations of bikes in the sub £250 range ideally at halfords, but there is an independant bike shop a few miles away I could go to also. I dont need comfort or style just something that will get me from a to b ideally :-)

Thanks in advance
Beks

Comments

• alidaf
    alidaf Posts: 147