come pick on the fresher lol

dumdum
dumdum Posts: 7
edited March 2013 in MTB beginners
well i couldnt see a mountain bike introduce yourself section, so i figured id join and say hello in here :) not ridden a mountain bike in anger for nearly twenty yrs (except for a midlife crisis 5yrs ago when i spent a load on a spesh pitch pro and rode it twice then sold it :oops: got the gear i got instead of discount still mind, so all is not lost!) i used to ride a diamond back ascent in the early nineties (blue marbled paint job with an elastomer fork, rockshox quadra from memory)

after a good chunk of time off i decided to get my arse into gear and sort my cardio out as im fairly unfit in that department, my core and strength is good due to weight training and brazilian Ju Jitsu (now packed in due to injury :( ) so its just weights and cycling, i also go fishing but that defo doesnt get me very fit lol

im a mechanic for a start..... so i decided to risk a buy from halfords.... after i tightened up a few bolts that werent what my torque wrench called correctly tightened, including but not limited to the crank, front caliper (one bolt was a wee bit loose), and a few other bolts her and there but none essential i was happy to go out and hit the trails on my 18" voodoo hoodoo (based solely on recd from here as a decent first step machine, love it so far!!), i guessed the shock pressure and sinned using the airline initially, that worked well, not, im lucky not to have exploded the fork i reckon lol :oops: smaller air pocket than i thought :lol: started on 45psi as i found out now i got a shock pump (topeak dsg or summat like, it worked a treat and im now at 65psi which gives roughly 20mm of sag in kit)