Buying my first carbon bike

Gaz7777gaz
Gaz7777gaz Posts: 18
edited March 2013 in Road buying advice
Hi cycling newbie here can anybody help me .i am looking at buying a Ribble carbon bike and I am struggling to pick some wheels ,I didn't think it would be so hard.at present I ride a trek alpha 1.4 with campag mirage group set and mavic open pro wheels.if I buy a new sportive from Ribble with campag centaur group set and what ever wheels would I notice any difference or am I better saving my money .ps my wife would throw a rod! If I was to buy wheels that cost more than here car! Cheers.

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    You are not fooling anyone with the cunningly descised title.

Its another 'What Wheels' Thread is'nt it? :-)
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • Firstly lets get the wife part out of the way - if you don't know the rule its that everything is half the price it actually costs & its also in the 50% sale that just the way it works.

As for the difference between your current mavic's they will feel different on a new bike on the whole due to the new bike having different geometry.

If you want some help with your choices we will be happy to give what little advice we are worth but let us know your choices and you never know you might get different opinions but think there are enough of us to have owned most of the major choices out there to give you our opinions.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • jameses
    jameses Posts: 653
    It may be worth bearing in mind that the for the cost of selecting better wheels on Ribble's bike builder, you can almost certainly pick up those same wheels elsewhere (and still have the cheaper wheels for winter duties).