Help a noob with RS Revs set up

paulneenan76
paulneenan76 Posts: 777
edited March 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
I'll try and explain this the best as I can - I am new to the world of Air/Dual air forks and as such, whilst I followed the Rock Shox/SRAM manual guide thing linked to in FAQ's, I'm unsure whether I'm getting the most out of the fork with my set up - the difference in performance over my last fork is huge but I doubt the set-up is right.

I have the RS Revs 150 RLT Dual Air jobs. As an example of my lack of understanding, I was messing around in the local skate/bmx park at lunch and thought I'd practice getting the wheel up for manuals, wheelies, etc., however, when I lifted the bars the fork extended. Now I know I've probably weighted the front before pulling back but the extension was quite long and meant I couldn't get the wheel high enough, shifting my weight forward, and then embarrassingly back to the floor :) Is this a sag, rebound, or pressure adjustment or am I talking utter b*llocks and its purely my poor technique :D very likely.

Any help or thoughts appreciated

Paul
Family, Friends, Fantastic trails - what else is there

viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12898838
viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12897374

Comments

• EH_Rob
    EH_Rob Posts: 1,134
    Poor technique I'd imagine. Getting the front end up for a wheelie is not achieved by pulling up - it's actually a firm, well timed pedal stroke (just as your stronger foot goes past 12 o clock) and body position. The front of the bike should just lift if you're doing it right. You then need to continue that power, find the balance and stay there.

In terms of pressure adjustment, use the positive chamber to set the correct sag (20%?), then adjust the negative to roughly the same - you can alter the feel of the fork by adding or removing a little bit from the negative. Do some reading - I can't remember exactly what it does.