iPhone Email / GMail Solutions (iOS6)

Secteur
Secteur Posts: 1,971
edited March 2013 in The cake stop
Hi all,

I exclusively use Gmail, and have just bought a new iPhone 5 (I am new to iPhone).

I originally set it up to use the inbuilt mail app, but it wouldnt do "push" with gmail (confirmed by internet searches).

So, I have ditched the native mail app, and installed the GMail App instead, which is great, and it does push. I have also synced my contacts and calenders between google and iPhone.

Two questions;

The GMail Push features seems to use a lot of battery, presumably because it's always checking with the server?

How do you all manage your email on the iPhone?

Comments

• alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    Should have got an Android phone if you are in the Google ecosystem.
  • Secteur
    shouldawouldacoulda!! That's no use to me now!
  • schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    I have 3 gMail accounts as my ISP also uses gMail for its e-mail service and I use the standard iPhone mail app.

I just check my phone every now and again. If I'm expecting something and depending on it's importance then that can be every 5 mins. If I'm not expecting anything and I'm busy or if I'm out cycling then it could be hours between checking, but there's rarely anything that important in my e-mail and if people really need to contact me, they can always speak to me with the 'phone' function! :wink:
  • Are you sure its the app affecting the battery, check out the complaints about ios 6 and the 6.1 update - infact vodafone urged people not to upgrade to 6.1, and only last week gave the all clear - but read around - it mightnt be the apps problem at all.
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
    momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.