Buy new via cycle2work vs. secondhand?

Dean909
Dean909 Posts: 6
edited February 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi folks,

I've checked through the FAQ's and had a search through the forum to see if my question has already been answered, but I couldn't find anything so here goes...

I'm torn between two choices;

1) Buy a new mountain bike via one of the cycle to work schemes and save some tax

2) Buy a second hand bike, probably with a much better spec, from an auction site. I'm an engineer, so the idea of buying a frame and components doesn't put me off either

A lot of my friends already own mountain bikes, and I'm quite envious when they all tear off to Cwmcarn and have a blast! I'm overweight, so I'm hoping that it'll be good exercise for me and a win/ win situation all round. I'm aware that ultimately I'll visit a bike shop and try a few out, but I would greatly appreciate the opinions of guys and gals that already own, or have had experience creating a shortlist of bikes to consider.
Essentially I'll use the bike to get me to and from work on weekdays and cross country/ trail riding (Cwmcarn and other such venues) on weekends.

I've done a bit of research, and from what I can gather my best bang for buck around £1000 would be something like a Giant Trance X4. Magazines seem to like it and I haven't seen many bad reviews?

I've also browsed auction sites, and it would appear I'll get a lot more 'bang for my buck'. I've seen Trek Fuel EX7's go within my budget, as well as Giant Trance X3's and Specialized Stumpjumper FSR's. As I said earlier, I have no problem buying components and building them around a frame as a potential third option, but I would be buying second hand components as new is waaaay outside my budget.

Any advice you can offer would be greatly received as well as any recommendations for bikes I should be considering.

Thanks in advance,

Dean.

Comments