Beginner Routes in Leeds/W.Yorkshire

ianwilliams
ianwilliams Posts: 257
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Ola,

I'm pretty new to cycling after having loads of injuries running. I have a hybrid.

I have a turbo which I've been using to get some fitness up. I enjoy it but I need to get out on the roads and actually cycle properly. However, I live slap bang in Leeds city and I'm not comfortable with cycling in busy traffic.

Would you recommend any routes round here that I can dodge the busy traffic down Wellington Street/Kirkstall Road? Or just hop on the train out to another town? I would do the canal but the towpath is now closed!

Cheers

Comments

• Hmm the canal would have been my first choice. How much of it is actually closed?
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Get a copy of the (free) Leeds cycle route map - it gives locations of all the cycle paths and lanes. One irrc goes up Meanwood valley and is more segretated than most here.

Kirstall road isn't so bad with the cycle lane and bus lane but there's always Burley Road as an alternative. Depends where you want to go! As for the train- you can go out beyond Bramhope on the Harrogate line and there are some nice roads around there. Only trouble is that the quiet roads tend to be the hillier ones!

You might want to try The Leeds Meetup cycle group. Nice folk who do soft rides at the weekend and Friday lunchtimes from Roundhay. http://www.meetup.com/Leeds-Cycling-Group/
    Faster than a tent.......
  • Hi, if you take a look at gmap-pedometer.com or mapmyride you can plot a route out on those. It shows you the elevation as well. If there are any roads I'm not certain of I just go to the street view on google and take a little look to ensure I'm not going to be facing too much danger. I appreciate some of the street views can be older but this approach has not failed me yet. It also gives you a heads up on what you will be facing!!!
  • philwint
    philwint Posts: 763