Truing a bent wheel

Mrtennis
Mrtennis Posts: 153
edited February 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
So I took new build out on it's first big ride on Saturday, 21 miles on and off road. Got round to cleaning it up today and making adjustment etc and I was gutted to find that it seems that possibly both wheels my be slightly bent.
So, how easy is it to true a wheel? I read a couple of articles online, one on sheldon brown, and that one especially made it sound ridiculously complicated. I got confused but it made it sound like I should be going round the whole wheel and adjusting every spoke, not just ones where the wheel seems bent.
Then I found this video;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q6eOamGK2tY
I have to say this guy made it sound pretty simple and I think I could give that a go. I did build the bike myself so I have some knowledge and ability. Or will it be safer to take them to a bike shop? They would be the first part of my "project" that I would have had to do that with!
Just a bit gutted as they seem to have got bent on my first proper ride. The wheels were second hand to me but seemed fine when I was building the bike. Another thing I noticed on Sheldon Brown was that possibly all spokes can need tightning in some cases. Could that have been the problem originally and that's why they got bent? I don't remember any extremely hard bumps etc on the ride so they seem to have got bent quite easily - they are mavic x517 with hope hubs. I use v-brakes so want them as perfect as possible.
Lastly, I may just be the impression I've had over the years, but is it a sign of bad things to come once you start having to straighten wheels? Will they be going out of true often???
Any help much appreciated!

Comments

• This works for me, I leave the wheel in situ and use cable ties instead of a truing stand.

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... rim-truing
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865