Cambridgeshire Advice needed

corriebee1
corriebee1 Posts: 390
edited February 2013 in Commuting chat
Hi folks

I'm relatively new to the world of road bikes, but had previously been parking outside Cambridge on the Trumpington Park N'Ride and then cycling in on my MTB.

I've recently biought myself a gorgeous FELT Z6 and have done a few 15 mile rides. I'm thinking I would like to extend my cycling part of the commute.

Question is. Where to leave the car and get on the bike? I'm coming in from the West (Royston end) and would ideally like about a 6-8 miler each way to start with. Eventually, i think Foxton is going to be the spot to leave the car, but that's 11 miles away from the office, and possibly a bit much to kick off with.

Can anyone give me any bright ideas? Any help would be very much appreciated!

Cheers

Comments

• gtvlusso
    gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
    That area down Trumpington road towards the M11 used to funny for parking.

There are a few sidestreets off Trumpington Road where you could dump the car, Possibly leave it on Shelford Road? I guess the Waitrose car park is monitored!

I would do a recon mission and try this road: looks to have parked cars on it:

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=foxton+ ... k&t=h&z=19

Wingate way off Trumpington road.

**Very long time since I lived in Cambridge.
  • Thanks GTVLusso

I'm looking for something a bit further out really. That road's actually closer to town than the park n'ride (Which is right next to Waitrose, and free to park in if you ever need to!). I dunno if there's anywhere nearer to (or a little further out) Harston.

At the moment, I come in through Barton, so a bit further North and due West of Cambridge. I just don't know anywhere safe and free to park there. Maybe a drive round on the way home tonight should be the plan.