Saracen hard tail for trail riding beginner

dg1973
dg1973 Posts: 18
edited February 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hello all.

I would like some advice please. I went trail riding this week for the first time, and loved it. I am looking go get a new bike as my current bike is a low level Specialized MTB. only used it previously on tow paths etc. I am limited to Saracen bikes as I can get discount. I am torn between these 3.

http://www.saracen.co.uk/bikes/trail/mantra-trail

http://www.saracen.co.uk/bikes/trail/mantra-expert

http://www.saracen.co.uk/bikes/trail/kili-trail

How do these bikes compare against eac other. I'm afraid the specs don't mean a great deal to me. I am sure they would all be great compared to my Specialized. The mantra expert is a stretch budget wise. Would I benefit much more from this compared to the cheaper mantra ? What about 29er v 26er. Any benefits or otherwise for a complete novice?

I apologise for yet another which bike thread but as a beginner I would value some expert advice.
Thanks in advance

Newly hooked trail rider.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    29ers roll a bit smoother than 26ers over the bumps, but are heavier and usually lower specced.

What sort of discount are you getting?
  • dg1973
    Hopefully around 30%
  • supersonic
    Even then I wouldn't bother. Better bikes for less.
  • dg1973
    What would you suggest for sub £500 bikes if you don't mind me asking?
  • supersonic
    If you can stretch to £550 then this:

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/rockrider-81 ... 68918.html

Is around the same standard as the Mantra Expert, and better than the other two.
  • dg1973
    I have just been offered this for £150. Brand new.
    http://www.madison.co.uk/productinfo.as ... f=RN811818