advice on a new mountain bike

phezman
phezman Posts: 11
edited February 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to the whole mountain biking thing and I'm in the market for my first 'proper' bike. I've got a budget of about £400-500. I've done a bit of looking and come up with a few names, although these are a bit under budget so i could stretch it a bit. Any thoughts/suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I'm looking at -
Voodoo Hoodoo (£450 at halfords)
Carrera Kraken (£459 at halfords also)
genesis latitude 00 2012 (£500 in sale)
GT Krakoram 2.0 2012 (£500 at Paul's cycles)
I'll be going about 40/30/30 on roads, dirt paths and some downhill stuff in the local woods/ maybe further afield in future.
thanks in advance :D

Comments

• have you considered the rockrider 8.1 i would avoid the vodoo as it is heavy and on the road you will not appreciate it, without links it's hard to say about the others but the rockrider is really good value.
    Also worth noting at this price it might be worth looking at a second hand bike.
  • phezman
    edited February 2013
    petriodet wrote:
    have you considered the rockrider 8.1
    Yeah ive seen a lot of good things about it, i'm unsure how much better it is? (would be willing to get that as a last resort though ;):( sorry about lack of links -
    Carrera Kraken
    Voodoo Hoodoo
    Genesis latitude 00 2012(i know it says discontinued but i can get it new for 500) - The genesis is looking like my favourite right now i think?
    GT Karakoram 2.0 2012
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The Rockrider 8.1 is now £550, still the best value for money.

The Genesis for £500 is very very good value, but it will be heavier, the Hoodoo is worth considering, the others not.

For what you want, the RR is great, the Genesis and Hoodoo both good and you'd not be disapointed.