100km ride what food should I take?

2»

Comments

• djm501
    djm501 Posts: 378
    Good point - but I'm no long timer - more or less novice myself.

I've been cycling for eight months - seriously since august last year. I did find I started to go on empty after about 30 miles when I started going long distance which is when I started taking on energy drinks. I also discovered the need for electrolytes to prevent cramp - hence the isotonic thing - I make my own from squash with added sea salt.
    I have never needed to eat very much on the long rides and on 60 miles I'll maybe not eat at all - but I will take an energy bar along just in case. I do eat more if I'm climbing a lot or it's cold but I have simply found that at the end I've only eaten half a bar of what I brought with me even on rides up to 80 miles or so.
    I have recently stepped up to real long distance stuff (stop laughing Audaxers, yes 200 km is max so far) - and then I find that it's important to eat properly. Someone mentioned the 4 hour mark above - this is roughly my estimation too. On my longest 200k ride I stop and eat a baked potato half way - I also got through a banana, a high-energy bar and a gel. Plus I refilled three half litre water bottles half way - but then that was 120 miles in January - not 60.

All I'm trying to say is that one shouldn't worry too much over 100 km (60 ish) miles - it's not that big of a deal. It's when you step up to longer rides that eating becomes important. On a 100k when you're going a long way from home I'd worry more about carrying a multitool, spare tube and pump.
  • simon_e
    simon_e Posts: 1,706
    I guess my body is still sussing that out and I'm a slim reasonably fit guy to start with.
    Take others' experiences as useful pointers, there's no single correct answer.