Assos V Udderly cream

skinnydog1973
skinnydog1973 Posts: 114
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
Hi Im new to cycling so sorry if this has been asked a million times, i am after some chamois cream and have seen these 2 creams and both have good reviews but is the assos one really worth paying twice as much and roughly how many rides would a tub last ( i know it depends how much you put on,but just on average ) Cheers

Comments

• Tom Dean
    Tom Dean Posts: 1,723
    sudocreme
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    I can only speak from experience with assos, but a pot lasts a long time. I tend to only use it on 300km and over, but always carry a small pot (one of the ones that comes with their shorts) with me just in case of issues on shorter rides.

I'd guess that you'd get maybe 50 applications from a large pot - so maybe 50 rides?

It does work and make a difference for longer days in the saddle.

Budget option is a tube of conotrane from the chemists (sort of an easier to apply sudocrem). Works very well during rides and post ride recovery if you've got challenges with sores.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I have only used the Assos one so have nothing to compare it too .......... but it does smell nice :D

Hey, I didn't get a pot with my shorts! :cry:
  • marcusjb
    Carbonator wrote:
    I have only used the Assos one so have nothing to compare it too .......... but it does smell nice :D

Certainly with all my Mille shorts, I got a wash bag, wash liquid and a tiny pot of bum cream. Couple of years ago, but I assumed they still did this.

Te little pot is really useful. As I said I carry it all the time, as you can get caught out on shorter rides (especially when it is really hot or really wet when water/sweat can cause problems).
  • marcusjb
    Tom Dean wrote:
    sudocreme