So what do we think about helmets?

unquestioned
unquestioned Posts: 172
edited February 2013 in MTB general
I'm a noob on a bike, I know this, my mates know this but it doesn't stop us having fun.

When I first started I wore a cheapo full face helmet from Argos, it was last minute, my first time on my new bike & I wasn't keen on bashing my head in so for £23 it was fine, it also had a removeable faceplate so worked both ways.
It actually worked out well, didn't get too hot, it was matte black because that's cool right? & it actually saved my face a couple of times, like when I took it down Nevis & left my bike behind at the start of the red run & decided to carry on by air.

Now obviously it's cheap so the protection to the face would be minimal & the hard ABS plastic would probably shatter & impale me with a thousand tiny plastic knives to give me a weird desperate Dan look but it's made me realise why a full face helmet is better.

So what's cool with helmets nowadays? I only ever see full face helmets of DH bikers, I'm an XC guy with a leaning towards DH & as my bike gets better I get faster/braver/stupiderinthefaceofdoom but I never see an XC guy with a full face helmet & when I wore mine I got some funny looks a some chortles, which meh, whatever, I like my face.

I've found a few that are 2-1 helmets, the Cratoni C-maniac, Met Parachute & the Cratoni shakedown, the 1st too look pretty stupid, gotta say & the 3rd looks better but looks as if it would boil your head on the uphill parts in anything approaching a warm day. Right now I'm leaning toward the shakedown but also considering a FF & just buying a normal helm for the charity runs & other non dangerous bike riding I do.