Shock Pump - Boardman Comp?

stiscooby
stiscooby Posts: 139
edited February 2013 in MTB general
Going to pick up my new Boardman Comp today :D - the guy who called to let me know it's ready to collect asked if anyone has suggested when I ordered it that I also purchase a shock pump (he is/was a Boardman mechanic apparently).

He recommends getting one so I can setup the pressure in the shocks to match my body weight. He tells me sometimes people bring their bikes back a few months later complaining the shocks are knackered and it's because the air pressure hasn't been set to match their weight.

This all kind of makes sense but I'm a newbie so would it be worth while me getting one (he tells me their about £25) or is he trying to spin me a line to sell something extra??? :?:

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    yes get one.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Basically he is correct - if it has an air fork then it will need to be matched to your weight/riding style.
    Also it is likely to lose a bit of air over time and will need to be checked.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Not basically at all. He is correct. End of.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    Get one with a gauge on it so you can see what pressure is actually in it.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003664C2W/r ... B003664C2W

These are good.
  • nicklouse
    Get one with a gauge on it so you can see what pressure is actually in it.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003664C2W/r ... B003664C2W

These are good.
    cant say I know of a shock pump that does not have a gauge.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812