Freshmint

Revis
Revis Posts: 12
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
Good afternoon, I'm relatively new to cycling and only took part in an event over the summer when I took on the Etape part II. I'm interested in getting involved regularly in the amateur scene as I'm on 23 and have a decent engine. At the moment I am pretty big for a cyclist to say the least, a bit chubby but really just because I'm built like a flanker, however my intention is to lose about 7kg over the next few months and get sub 90kg working down slowly from there.

For reference my Etape placing was only top 2000, I crashed early on the first descent but really I was hindered by not being able to train around work and buying a house so my weight was too big an obstacle. As for my numbers I used to row so on a static bike (in this instance a watt bike) my long distance speed is decent. I can hit an average pace of 40km/h for 2.5 hours, or for 100km whichever way you view it.

Given my physique and preference for longer races what kind of events would suit me and does anyone have any tips on Teams in the Putney area or races around London to get stuck into?

Really appreciate any advice, thanks for your time.

Revis

Comments

• Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Hello Revis, welcome on board.

So, some comments that are honest and not meant to be offensive...

1. No point quoting your speed as decent based on static bikes...in fact no point quoting speeds on here without all the factors such as ascent, wind, traffic...etc, etc...and if you list all the factors then no one really cares anyway :) 40kph over 2.5 hours on a real ride? Dream on.

2. You talk about long distance races and admit that you currently weigh 97kg. That's bloody big in any one's language and certainly not the typical weight of an endurance athelete. No excuses, you need to start losing weight sooner rather than later.