what kind of pace is competitive at amateur level?

JMCBRIDEWF3
JMCBRIDEWF3 Posts: 9
edited February 2013 in Amateur race
Basicly i want to know what kind of pace people are doing to be competitive in a amateur race, and what kind of miles your doing in training and races.
Im pretty new to road cycling and no where near the level i need to be to race but wouldnt mind knowing what i need fo aim for,
Cheers Joe.

Comments

• Tom Dean
    Tom Dean Posts: 1,723
    For road racing, average speeds do not really give a good guide. The best thing you can do is contact your local club and go training with them, you will soon get a feel for it.
  • what do you mean by 'amateur race'? 4th cats up to elites without contract are all amateur but race at very different speeds
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    Well to give you a rough idea, I'll give you an example of my first race.

On a fairly flat course, for 1 hour, at CAT4, the pace varied from 24-30mph. Avg over the hour was about 25mph. The sprint was about 32-35mph. Was at Z4/5 throughout the entire race.

The race was fun, didn't get dropped, toughest ride ever though. I was fit enough to attack a few times, but didn't have the legs to finish. Came 13th. Up till the race, I'd only been riding for 10 months and totaled about 5000miles in varying distances and intensities.
  • DavidJB
    DavidJB Posts: 2,019
    Races averages don't mean squat compared to training averages.
  • bigmat
    bigmat Posts: 5,134