Wind Speed - Whats safe?

triban
triban Posts: 149
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
Hi All,

i'm quite new to road cycling, and eager to get out there but it's pretty windy right now, 20mph + according to the weather report. This seems high to me, especially as i notice the wind a whole lot more on the bike than i do if walking.

Does anyone have an opinion on what wind speeds are just to high to ride in, considering cross winds and being blown into traffic etc!

thanks for your tips!

Comments

• Htron
    Htron Posts: 47
    I fear the sudden gusts. Unpredictable gusts are dangerous where a constant steady wind is less dangerous I feel.
  • I dont go out on windy or blustery days. Just not enjoyable and dangerous. I'd say anything over 18mph is windy.
    the deeper the section the deeper the pleasure.
  • The headwind in this morning was not fun at all. If the wind isn't going the same direction tonight i.e. a tailwind home, I will be writing a strongly worded letter to god asking him wtf he is playing at.

My commute is 23kms (Romford to the City) and I average 22-24kph over the entire journey. I couldnt get it above 17 this morning. Thighs still burning now. This is going to be a hard week I think.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Whilst I do keep tabs on wind speed (and will try to avoid anything over ~20mph), the bigger worry for me is, as per above, gusting winds since they make bike handling so unpredictable.

I went out for a spin last week and midway through a fast descent got caught in a strong gusting cross wind...scared the live out of me!

Best thing to do in a strong wind though is get the biggest chap in the club to sit on the front and then everyone else resist the temptation to take a turn. Think of it as helping him to lose weight whilst you get some benefit :)
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Bobbinogs wrote: