Boardman Comp?

stiscooby
stiscooby Posts: 139
edited February 2013 in MTB buying advice
I have a Halfords voucher from an insurance payout to replace my stolen bike for a little over £600.....

From what I gather the hoodoo is also a reasonable bike but think I prefer the look of the Boardman and assume it must be a better bike considering its a few hundred quid more?

Halfords currently doing £60 off so this would make the Boardman comp £639. Would this be a worthwhile purchase/my best option or should I consider something else (don't mind adding some cash if it would be worth it)? I'm also unsure if any new models may be coming out sometime soon which might be worth a look?

My main use will be riding around the local woods, some trail centres etc, nothing too serious as I'm just a newbie :lol:

Appreciate any advise

Thanks

Comments

• hi

well i have a boardman too and its been brillent so far, i have the HT pro team

my advise would be go for the voodoo as its good bike and has won many awards and reviews, OR if you want to spend the extra cash then go for the boardman team or pro or full sus depending on how much extra you want to pay and if you can get one in your size.

but with you saying its for nothing too serious maybe the voodoo would be best and spend the rest on other gear like a helmet/tools/camelbak ect ect..
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The only thing better on the comp over the Hoodoo are the forks, but they are not that much better and I'd save the difference if I were you.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • though I read the Boardman Comp was 11.7kg and the Voodoo 13.7kg. That's a hell of the difference if it's correct and can't be just down to the fork surely?
  • RandG
    RandG Posts: 779
    hi
    i have the HT pro team

Huh !