Has my Cotic been prepped properly?

Tom4
Tom4 Posts: 69
edited February 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
So, got a BFe from Cotic last week and just been waiting on parts before I start the build. Having looked over the frame, it looked to me as if it needed prepping and I thought nothing of it since Cotic didn't mention it would come prepped.

Interestingly Cotic has put on there facebook page (in the last couple of days) that they face and chase the BB aswell as face the headtube on all their frames before despatch.

I will let you lot decide as I'm no expert:

img0365ug.jpg

img0362bo.jpg

img0367z.jpg

I just want to get other people's opinions before I fire off an email to Cotic. Don't even know if its fair to moan as they didn't mention it would be prepped?

Can anyone confirm, does this need facing and chasing?

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    BB shell, IMHO yes.....
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • dusk
    dusk Posts: 583
    I bought one around November last year and the BB did need doing, the BB wouldn't go in otherwise. I didn't moan as they never said it would be ready to go.

So yes, get it faced and chased.
    YT Wicked 160 ltd
    Cotic BFe
    DMR Trailstar
    Canyon Roadlite
  • Tom4
    Cheers guys. It looks like they have started to do the BB then not done it all the way, which is strange.

Will just go to the LBS and get it done.

Dusk - thinking about it as you say I'm not going to moan as I never expected it to come prepped, just annoying they decided to start prepping all the frames 1 week after I get mine :(
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    the BB has not been touched.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Lagrange
    Lagrange Posts: 652