Do you deflate your tyres when flying a bike

Beckers62
Beckers62 Posts: 66
edited February 2013 in Tour & expedition
I'm taking my bike to Mallorca in a couple of weeks. I've booked a week B&B in Puerto Soller (pics and ride reports when I get back)

I'm hiring a bike case from my LBS. Is it necessary to deflate the tyres? What does everyone else do, are there any horror stories

Thanks

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    I reduce the pressure as normally requested by the airline.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • I think this dates back to the days when the hold was completely unpressurized, and is now unnecessary, but I am no aviation expert.

I have flown with my bike though with fully pumped up tyres and it's arrived fine.
  • There is absolutely no need to deflate the tyres as the maximum pressure increase of 15psi that could occur is if you took the bike into outer space in an unpressurised hold.

It's a widely held belief that the tyres will explode and custom and practise has the baggage handlers insisting on deflation. They are unmoved by folks pointing out that the aircraft tyres are not let down before take off.

The best strategy is to not to let the tyres down and see if you get away with it. Rest assured, unless you have grossly over inflated tyres, they will be intact after the flight.

As an aside, there used to be advice to bearers of fountain pens, pre-cartridge design, to empty them before flying as the ink bladder would discharge its contents as the cabin pressure dropped.

Things have clearly moved on.
  • Hoopdriver
    Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023