Chain lube - what is your choice

2»

Comments

• Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    zx6man wrote:
    Bozman wrote:
    nolight wrote:
    I use WD40 as a cleaner, not a lubricant. It removes stuff.

You were quick, but I was really expecting some real abuse within a couple of minutes.

WD to clean the chain and 3 in 1 or GT85 to lube it.

Just check out sites like KMC, they say just wash the chain, then lube, no need for solvents and the like, claims it removes the oil on the inside which will bugger a chain up in no time.

My chains on an 8 speed are cheap enough to replace anyway.... probably cost more in fancy cleaners/lubes :-)

I've been cycling for 20 yrs and do thousands of miles and this works for me, I use KMC chains at the mo and I get good mileage from the SLs and Ls. After every ride I give the chain a blast of WD and wipe down, then I coat with 3 in 1 and wipe the excess off, everything runs sweet and the changes are smooth, if it didn't work I wouldn't use it.
  • Bozman wrote:
    I've been cycling for 20 yrs and do thousands of miles and this works for me. . . After every ride I give the chain a blast of WD and wipe down, then I coat with 3 in 1 and wipe the excess off, everything runs sweet and the changes are smooth, if it didn't work I wouldn't use it.

Me too mate, except in my case it's more than 30 years (gulp!!) and my regime is like yours and works a treat. I also use Finish Line green as well, but 3-in-1 works just fine. It's what my filthy hardworking commuting bike gets after every wet ride and although it's rarely clean (probably like you, I have a life) it's mechanically perfect.
  • smidsy wrote:
    Finish Line Dry.

This. All year round.
  • I usually clean my chain in white spirit and once dry I give the whole chain a good spray with gt85 to protect the side plates and then I apply shimano ptfe lube to the rollers individually.