wheels and tyres upgrade for heavy rider

marcusww
marcusww Posts: 202
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Looking to upgrade a new bike spec roubaix comp 2012 for lighter alloy wheels and tyres. Thinking about Fulcrum 3 or Mavic kysrium elite with Conty 4000s. I am new to road riding after riding mtb's all my life and looking at 4/5 sportives this year. The problem is I am 17 stone / 238 lbs. I am loooking at wheels around 1500 grams. Are these suitable suitable or does anyone know what wheels would be?

Comments

• lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    Speak to Ugo on here about handbuilts. He'll do something sexy for a similar budget and with the right weight and spoke count ratio, that you know is well built and easily serviced/trued should the worst happen.

Here's his blog. http://paolocoppo.drupalgardens.com/
    Trail fun - Transition Bandit
    Road - Wilier Izoard Centaur/Cube Agree C62 Disc
    Allround - Cotic Solaris
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Ugo is the man but essentially for someone 17 stone you would need to look at a higher spoke count (maybe 36) to reduce the liklihood of spokes breaking.

Light wheels of 1500g invariably use lower spoke counts and may well prove unsuitable.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • rrsodl
    rrsodl Posts: 486
    smidsy wrote:
    Ugo is the man but essentially for someone 17 stone you would need to look at a higher spoke count (maybe 36) to reduce the liklihood of spokes breaking.

Light wheels of 1500g invariably use lower spoke counts and may well prove unsuitable.

I used to to think that too until somebody corrected me. Better quality wheels are stronger but not because they have more spokes. There are some zipp wheels that have a recommended weight "up to 18 stones".

I'm 17 stones and I ride 20 spokes wheels, very ordinary wheels but they are OK. Before that I had a set of Shimano R550 with 16 spokes in the front and 20 in the back. Wheels still run true and are in my other bike.