PC anti virus software recommendations

jgsi
jgsi Posts: 5,062
edited January 2013 in The cake stop
The Kaspersky av is about to expire.. at 40 quid for a year it's a bit steep, and thats with a tenner off
Any suggestions for good free av to run well on Windows7?

Comments

• owenlars
    owenlars Posts: 719
    If you have BT Internet, MacAfee comes free and has done me well for years. Alternatively Zone Alarm is a pretty good freebie which you can pay to upgrade.
  • jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
    I've been using Avast! antivirus for years and the free version has always done a pretty good job, although it's a fairly basic package.
  • laurentian
    laurentian Posts: 2,505
    Avast! is OK.

I think Microsoft Security Essentials is about as good as it gets in terms of free AV software.

I am no expert.
    Wilier Izoard XP
  • jgsi
    Thanks for the replies! :)
    Giving the MS Security Essentials a go
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    I use AVG and have never had any problems. Its free too!
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • AVG and Comodo work well for me. Go to Filehippo for recommendations/most downloaded
    "Get a bicycle. You won't regret it if you live"
    Mark Twain
  • jawooga
    jawooga Posts: 530
    I currently have the latest Norton and it is surprisingly non-obtrusive. The comparison/reviews I read before buying recently suggested it was the most effective of the paid for Internet Security as well.

I've used AVG Free as an antivirus alongside PC Tools Firewall Plus in the past, which seemed to do the job.

If you do a bit of googling, you can normally find an offer on Mcaffee/Kaspersky/Norton. I think the one I bought was 3 licenses for about £40 - you don't get a disk and have to download from the website, but that suits splitting the cost with other people and downloading on to your respective machines.