Rear wheel query

pkngster
pkngster Posts: 17
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
I brought a Triban 3 by btwin as my first bike, due to cost and not knowing how long the bug would bite for. Well 600 miles later and I am still loving it, however my rear wheel has died, the cassette on the back wheel is having a real issue with the bearings and spindle and will not sit flush has a constant wobble. My mate and I have stripped it down, taken all the bearings out, cleaned, re greased and put it all back together again, 2.5 miles later the problem is back. I therefore think that a new wheel is the way forward and to be fair the first thing that I will have replaced.

Okay as I am a complete newbie what should I get?? I have seen the shimano r501's which look pretty good, but have no idea if they are a good buy or not? the other problem I have is if I buy a new wheel or wheel set, what inner tubes do I buy and what tyres do I get, I cant afford the top of the range, but I do not want to by cheap and cheerful only to have replace in another 500 odd miles, so what are good value for money and your recommendations.

Cheers,

PK

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    PM Ugo.Santalucia for advise on wheels. Top bloke and very good wheel builder.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • mwf28
    mwf28 Posts: 37
    I would just buy a new set of cheap wheels ,Is the cassette ok on the triban 3 ,its a 12 -25t shimano so as long as your new wheels are shimano hub ,should be a easy swap///

I would guess a cheapish r500 rear would do alright...Best to get a pair IMHO ....

http://www.tweekscycles.com/Product.do? ... tAodkjoA4Q

Keep an eye out on the parts for sale section loads of bargain wheels pop up!
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    smidsy wrote:
    PM Ugo.Santalucia for advise on wheels. Top bloke and very good wheel builder.