What bike to get?

amj84
amj84 Posts: 3
edited January 2013 in Commuting general
Hi,

Im not new to biking but i have alwAys used a mountain bike. I started riding into work about a year ago and am now looking to trade my mountain bike for some thing a little bit faster and more road worthy.

My dilemma is there simply is too much choice around and i would like some advice on what to buy. I have three bikes in my mind (unless anyone else can suggest something else) and my other question is should I go for hybrid, road or cyclocross?

The three bikes I have in mind are

Giant Escape RX2
Specialized Sirrus Comp
Specialized Tricross

I want some thing versatile that I can do long bike rides on and possibly use for a triathlon but also get to work quickly and enjoy the occasional ride with the family the more i read the more confused I get so any help is much appriciated.

Thanks Andy

Comments

• The Kona Rove is a new out of the box solution to people who look for a multi-talented commuter. http://www.konaworld.com/bike.cfm?content=rove. Should be lots of fun! (expecially for an (ex)mtb-er)
    Bikes like these are purpose build for fenders, packs and racks etc.

I'm not quite sure if the combination commuter/triathlon is a very sensible one. Triathlon bikes and positions are quite specific. If you're considering clip-on bars on a (comfort oriented) road bike to get a low stretched out position
    thats another option. Specialized Cirrus (more all-round) or Secteur (more sporty) are the ones I'd go for.

Specialized in my opinion is an expert brand in both reasonably prized entry lever 'sporty' bikes and ultra high end road mtb etc. if not slightly over prized.

Maybe give us some more info on the length of your ride and what kind of terrain you cross.
  • amj84
    amj84 Posts: 3
    Its about 6 miles each way on mainly cycle path/road however I do rides on weekends which are a little more off road but nothing worse than gravel/stoney surfaces.