Track position set up

indysmith
indysmith Posts: 276
edited January 2013 in Track
Hello,
I'm very new to the track, and have recently built myself a bike.
I am unfortunate in that I have very long legs and a short torso, which means that I usually require a bike with a short top tube and a long head tube to achieve an acceptable fit. (I usually ride "sportive" bikes to achieve a "race" position - this is not an option available on off-the-peg track frames unfortunately)
Regarding position, I have absolutely no idea what the hell I'm doing. I have set my reach up just about the same as I ride on my road bike, with my saddle just a couple of mm higher than usual.
Where I'm really lost is at what sort of saddle-to-handlebar drop I should be running? I've put some road bars on rather than track bars to counteract the short-torso effect, but I've currently got a LOT of stack height under the stem to make the position less extreme.

I'd be grateful for any tips!

img0801aj.jpg

P.S. Please don't tell me I've got a frame size too small because the next size up would be FAR too long in the top tube :(

Comments

• DHTT
    DHTT Posts: 345
    Just a quick idea if you want to reduce the 'Stack' of spacers, I seem to remember at the Track World Cup in the Omniums a lot of the riders do this, so when racing the Pursuits they can put on the TT bars at a lower position, then when race bunch races they have a rising stem and drops to have less extreme position. Hope that makes sense :-)
  • Eddy S
    Eddy S Posts: 1,013
    indysmith wrote:
    Where I'm really lost is at what sort of saddle-to-handlebar drop I should be running? I've put some road bars on rather than track bars to counteract the short-torso effect, but I've currently got a LOT of stack height under the stem to make the position less extreme.