Getting a tyre on...seriously.

FatMikeUK
FatMikeUK Posts: 51
edited January 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Okay, first things first, I'm not a complete goon. I've replaced and serviced pretty much everything on my bike myself, and whilst I'm far from being a pro mechanic I know my way around a tool box. That's one of the reasons this is driving me mad. On to the problem:

I just took delivery of a new wheelset, Alex ZTR Crest rims, and am currently trying to put my tyres on, but it's proving literally impossible. The rims must be slightly wider than the last set or something, because the tyre's are refusing to cooperate. I've tried two different tyres, wired Continental Barons and folding specialized Fast Traks and neither will go on. I can get one side of the tyre on, as in all the way round on the rotor side, but when I try to get the other side in I can get all but about the last 6 inches then I'm just chasing the tyre around the rim. It's massively too tight. has anyone got any tips to make this easier?

Seriously I don't know what's wrong. Like I said I'm not an incompetent moron. If it was anything else I'd have given up and taken it to my LBS already, but the fact is I'm going to be needing to change tyres for different conditions and repair inevitable punctures, so I need to work this thing out. I feel like such a div having to ask for help on getting a bloody tyre on, but there you go.

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    My Flows were like that, it just took some serious, serious effort, a couple of trapped fingers and some decent tyre levers. I was putting on a Loco Lobo and a Fat Albert. I'm considering running them tubeless (once I psyche myself up to take them off again) as I don't fancy a trailside repair when I get a puncture.