Blackspire stinger in 1x9 setup

BigColUK
BigColUK Posts: 69
edited January 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello

I am a bit of a newbie with modding my bike but I have fairly recently gone from a 3x9 to 2x9 setup. I have some issues with the front shifting (either doesn't drop to granny ring or goes too far and comes off). I've decided that I don't really need the granny ring and would like to try a 1x9 setup instead but with a smaller front ring (currently 36t).

My question is....I have already invested in a blackspire stinger. With my 2x9 setup, I have a 36-38 bashguard. As I am going to a single 32t up front, I will need to invest in another (smaller) bash. Should I continue with with the stinger-bash combination or do I need a chain guide?

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Keep the stinger if you need it, it is no more or less needed when running 1x9 than 2x9.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    the issue with running a bash that is too big is that the chain can rub when in the smaller rear cogs.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • I'm happy to buy a smaller bash but can I get away without having a chain guide as well as I don't really want to buy both a bash and a guide? Never run without a mech up front so don't know what the impact of not having the guide is.
  • The Rookie
    You need a guide or the chain will come off....
    read on here but you have 3 basic options, an inner guide plate (ring like a raidium or static like an n-gear jumpstop), a guide or use a front mech aligned on the middle ring using the stops (good cheap short term measure as you alreday have a mech)