Bike Fit and SPD's.....

LycraVirgin
LycraVirgin Posts: 55
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
My new toy has arrived from Wiggle, what a joy!
Couple of questions:-
I have never used SPD’s before and purchased some 105’s and Shimano shoes. Is there a procedure for positioning the cleat and spring for virgins? Or do I just suck it and see? The instructions don’t really give a lot away other than multiple safety warnings.
Also I don’t have any infrared sensors, cameras and software for measuring angles. Any cheaper way of figuring out the correct height of my saddle and my body position is correct? Bearing in mind I’m sat on the bike ,in the lounge with a bored looking girlfriend for advice.
My first impression is I feel stretched on the hoods but this is my first go on a road bike after years on a mountain bike. I do seem to be obscuring the front hub when on the hoods but it doesn’t feel particularly natural. Thinking get a shorter stem? But don’t really want to spend any more money.
I won’t get a chance to thrash her until the weekend but I guess that will be the acid test.

Comments

• ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Your stem will probably be horizontal or pointing slightly downwards. Most stems these days can be flipped, i.e. taken off and put on the other way so they are facing slightly up from horizontal. My road bike was too much of a stretch at first and I thought of immediately getting a shorter stem, but I flipped the stem instead and it is now a perfect stretch for me to the bars. I would therefore try that first - it will make a bigger difference than you would think.
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    Wouldn,t worry about the stem until you,ve had your bike out on a few rides and actually tried yoour position.Also it may be right once you have sorted your fit.There are lots of utube clips about fitting your bike and easy to do and will get you in the ball park.I used them to do mine and my bike feels right.