Complete Novice - Questions

cswilson10
cswilson10 Posts: 5
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm sure there are millions of newbies, especially since the Olympics - and I'm one of them. I have just bought a Specialized Allez 2013 - this one; http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Specialized-All ... _54927.htm

I was measured properly and all that, but completely forgot to ask the following questions so I was hoping you lot may be more helpful, and hopefully more impartial.

Apologies for how stupid some of my questions are.

1. Will it come with a saddle? It isn't listed on the spec. If not, what would be a good value saddle?
2. Pedals. I want ones that I can wear with trainers, and with.....
3. Shoes - good value shoes?
4. Mudguards - are they completely necessary?
5. Any other tips/purchases you feel are vital?

I know, I'm sure these questions seem ridiculous, but there is so much to learn.

One day, hopefully, I'll be able to answer someone else's questions - so you won't have to.

Thanks in advance,
csw

Comments

• 1. Yes
    2. Pedals, you really need to decide if you want clipless or flats
    3 but if you want the option of clipless or flats then Shimano 324
    4 Not totally necessary, however, make a big difference when it's wet
    5. Carry spare tube, levers incase you get a flat. Keep asking questions, they are only easy to answer if you know the answer
  • Welcome! Don't worry; knowledge comes with experience. Before long you'll be a dab hand...

1. It will almost certainly come with a saddle; I have never heard of a complete bike being sold without one.

2. If you'd like to be able to wear trainers, probably the best choice is SPD pedals. I want to say clips and straps because I like them (and don't like riding on a plain platform), but you can't have both clipless and clips on the same pedal. The Shimano M324 is the obvious choice.