How to ride fast

newtocycling
newtocycling Posts: 4
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
I am totally new to cycling, so I have borrowed my friend's bike - Cannondale Caad 5 -- Shimano 105 group -- 10 gears... looks fairly old...

I have adjusted saddle height, lubricated the bike, etc... but for some reason I don't think I am fast enough on a flat london roads... others on road bike goes zoom past me and within seconds they are out of my sight ... furthermore, those riding hybrids and mountain bike seems faster than me ...

not sure is it because I have just started riding... or is it the bike... or what?

Any advice will be appreciated?

Image - http://www.roadcyclinguk.com/wp-content ... e_3_hi.jpg

Thanks!

Comments

• elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    well if your new then thats the reason,it takes a while to build up your fitness for cycling.Best advice,ride ride ride.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Nothing wrong with a CAAD 5, have you tried pedalling harder?
  • It's not the bike; it almost never is. Fitness, strength, flexibility and endurance all take time to develop. Don't blame the tools but don't blame yourself either; you can't expect to transform overnight.
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    ^^ this

You're completely new to it and have lots to learn yet, and lots of muscles to develop. Compare yourself after a few weeks of regular riding and you'll be going faster without it seeming any harder. Keep riding, the body will adjust and adapt :)
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava
  • Guys... thanks a lot for your prompt response!! I'll definitely keep riding and hopefully will get better with time...

@ShutUpLegs - at the moment I am pedalling at nominal speed... if I pedal at higher speed I may exhaust quickly... but I'll keep working towards it...Thanks!

Just hoping for this weather to get warmer soon :)

Thank You!!