Does anyone know anything about bike?

Bobbytheparrot
Bobbytheparrot Posts: 2
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Hi, I am a complete newbie to cycling, and am looking for a cheap road bike (I ride my mountain bike everywhere at the moment, but would like to change to a road bike).

I know it is not going to be amazing due to the price, but I cannot find any reviews of it anywhere, so thought I would see what other people think? Thanks for any input :)

http://www.bikesdirect365.com/products/Indigo-Vuelta-AR1%2C-Sports-Road-Bike%2C-16-Speed.html

Comments

• napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    Go for a BTwin Triban 3 from Decathlon.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • That actually looks like a bargain. It is pictured without pedals and is not described as a 'gents bike' which are my usual signals for a cheap and nasty roadbike. it's got decent entry-level Shimano kit and it looks nice.

I've never heard of the brand though.
  • NapoleonD wrote:

That's another solid budget option, as is the Carrera Virtuoso from Halford's.
  • Hip Priest wrote:
    NapoleonD wrote:

The Virtuoso gets my recommendation. I've had mine for about 5 months now, and it is very good for the price.
  • Hip Priest wrote:
    NapoleonD wrote:

The Virtuoso gets my recommendation. I've had mine for about 5 months now, and it is very good for the price.

Yeah, I've had mine for over a year now. I've put about 2300 miles on it, including a hilly century. I'd recommend upgrading the tyres and brake blocks and getting some better bar tape, but it's a good solid bike for the money.

I only paid £240 for mine, after buying it nearly new off Ebay.
  • rhext
    rhext Posts: 1,639
    Hi, I am a complete newbie to cycling, and am looking for a cheap road bike (I ride my mountain bike everywhere at the moment, but would like to change to a road bike).