New cyclist help please

skinnydog1973
skinnydog1973 Posts: 114
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Hi I am just about to take the plunge and buy my first bike, i am totally new to this and would like a bit of advice please. i have seen a bike for sale and was hoping for a bit of advice about the bike i might get and the suitability. The bike i have seen is a Bianchi Monocoque 928, it has veloce brakes if that helps lol, the price is £995, The bike is in immaculate condition does this sound like a good price or are they asking too much and would this be a good first bike, sorry if i sound like a total loser but i really know nothing about bikes but really want to get into them, thanks for any help cheers

Comments

• smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    Bianchi 928 is an awesome bike for the price you say.
  • Would this be a good bike for me to start on
  • smoggysteve
    Any bike is a good bike to start on. If you like it and can afford it, go for it.

Bianchi are a very good make, Campagnolo Veloce groupset is pretty sound. There are a thousand top quality bikes you can get for that price but if thats whats caught your eye you would have a good bike for the money.
  • ForumNewbie
    ForumNewbie Posts: 1,664
    Would this be a good bike for me to start on
    Where have you seen it for sale - shop or internet? If it was me I'd definitely want to see and try it out for size before buying. It looks like a nice bike, but may be too racy for a complete beginner to start with, i.e. the gearing may be too high if you live in a hilly area. Do you know what the gearing is? - if 53/39 at front and 11-25 at back it will be very tough to get up steep hills on it.
  • Hi i have seen it in a shop that is selling it for someone i dont really know what you mean with the gearing as i am a total novice, i probably need to speak to the person who has it for sale in the shop
  • smoggysteve