Manchester to Huddersfield and back

chorltonnick
chorltonnick Posts: 19
edited January 2013 in Road general
Just wanted to share with you my experience today. I set off from my house in Chorlton just before 8am with the vague intention of heading towards Oldham and tackling some hills. I've only been "seriously" cycling (ie. regularly riding distances of more than 30 miles) for about six months.

I went east from Manchester (through Levenshulme, Gorton, Denton, Hyde, Ashton etc) and then north. Somewhere along the line I missed a turn and ended up on the A670. I have never ridden this road, nor have I ever driven it so I had no idea what to expect. As it turns out, it was beautiful. Up I climbed into the Peak District, past Mossley, Greenfield, Uppermill and Diggle - right up to Redbrook Reservoir.

As mentioned, I'm basically a beginner and this was my first "proper" climb. I loved it. It was challenging but not impossible (average 4.5%) and I enjoyed finding a rhythm and sticking to it. The top of the mountain was in the clouds - mist and fog everywhere. All very dramatic.

Then the descent and a well-earned break (although it's quite stressful when you're on something so steep!).

Anyway, I kept riding on through Saddleworth, Marsden and Slaithwaite and then into Huddersfield (approx 32 miles at this point). I stopped at the Galpharm Stadium for 20 minutes or so and then turned around and rode back. This wasn't quite as easy, though! I don't think I'd eaten enough food and my energy levels were lacking on the climb back up (or perhaps it was steeper on that side). Anyway, I admit I had to stop two or three times for a minute or so before starting again. By the time I reached the crest rain was lashing down and the wind was blowing across the moors. The descent was freezing!