Advice for nervous beginner

rachelandrew
rachelandrew Posts: 3
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Hello, I'm new to road cycling (in fact pretty new to cycling at all). I'm a runner and really fancy having a go at duathlon and triathlon, so the first step is getting to grips with the road bike. I apologise in advance for the total newbie nature of this post.

I have a Specialized Allez Sport, fitted by the local bike shop. I'm wearing MTB shoes with SPD cleats as I had those already for the spin classes I do. So I understand the mechanics of clipping in and out however I'm so nervous of doing so I've only got as far as clipping in one foot so far. On my first ride I managed quite well with that one foot. Today I went out and immediately toppled over sideways, then did it again about 10 minutes later, which has left me a bit bruised but has also really knocked any confidence I had.

I love climbing hills, and that's the only time I feel as if I'm in control of the bike. It feels really twitchy and light on the flat or downhill. I'm not really very sure of basics like which gear I should be in, which won't be helping.

So really I'm just looking for any advice for a true cycling newbie, especially in terms of building confidence, or any good books/online resources/videos that might help me learn more about how to control the bike. At the moment I'm going over to Windsor Great Park to practice, where I'm more likely to ride into a deer than a car. I don't think I'm at a point where I could add dealing with traffic to the mix! However I really want to be able to properly enjoy cycling by the summer :)

Rachel

Comments

• 16mm
    16mm Posts: 545
    edited January 2013
    You do want to use clipless pedals, but I'd get used to riding the bike with normal flat pedals first, then put the spd pedals back on when you're happy. If you're beginning riding then you'll have plenty to get used to.