Hello, im looking for some advice

DarioL
DarioL Posts: 4
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,

I am looking for some advice. I am new to cycling and am interested in buying a good bike (I don't have a large budget) and some nice riding cloths. Can you please recommend whether I can buy it all online or is going to a store better?

Thank you in advance!
Dario

Comments

• zippy483
    zippy483 Posts: 104
    For the bike go somewhere you can try one out for size etc, Local bike shop (LBS), Evans, Decathlon there are lots of places, if you do go into your LBS and find something you like, buy it from there and develop a relationship with the lads or lasses in the shop.

Clothing the Dhb stuff form Wiggle.com is pretty well received with decent quality at a good price, and measurement charts are fairly accurate aswell
  • tetley10
    tetley10 Posts: 693
    I'm new to it. I went to my local bike shop to get my bike. I researched prices for the bikes online and then got the shop to match the price not sure of all shops do this though. I got my shoes, pedals and lights from the shop.
    The clothing I got online.
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    Go online and research what you want. The more information you have the less likely you are going to be shoved onto a bike that you doesn't fit you. I would as mentioned above but from your LBS but be sure you get what you want, no what they want to get rid of. This is probably the ideal time to first time buy as the deals you can get on a 2012 bike are excellent if you look. And never be afraid to get a second opinion from elsewhere. Especially when it comes to sizing. A badly fitting bike can cause back and knee pain and before you know it you are sacking off cycling cos the bikes wrong. And that would be a big shame.
  • As others have said do your research & get an idea of what is out there for your budget. Then go to a LBS and try out some bikes & get their advice also.