Southampton cycling buddy

adowling92
adowling92 Posts: 225
edited January 2015 in Road general
Anyone in SOuthampton want a cycling buddy?
getting bored of riding on my own!
Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride. --John F. Kennedy

Comments

• I'm based in Fair Oak near Eastleigh, not far from Southampton. If you can get yourself round my way there are some fantastic cycling routes through the Meon valley. I should forewarn you though I'm fairly new to road cycling so whether I'd be enough of a challenge for you is another matter! lol

I'm also a member of Sotonia cycling club http://www.sotonia.co.uk. If you're not already a member, I strongly suggest you do so. They do club runs every Sunday for all abilities which are great fun and a great way of meeting people. They also organise competitive events, sportives, time trials etc if that's your bag.
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    Reading this and your other posts, it sounds like joining a club might be a good idea. Providing they have rides organised for a range of abilities, it's a good way to progress to longer distances and higher speeds.
  • Southampton was generalisation but i live in chandlers ford near asda :) i tend to cycle up and around baddesly round to romsey and otterbourne. I'm asthmatic so if i am faster, i wont be for long lol.
    I was looking into that as i have a couple of friends who are in it, who are alot better than i am!
  • I'm from fareham, so if you fancy meeting up then pm me your number could sort something out? Don't mind coming up that way ran out of routes this way!
  • Yeah could do mate!
  • I'm based in Hedge End and regularly go out with 3 or 4 mates (or alone, I'm not that popular!!) on rides around the Meon Valley. Always happy for anyone to join me (us) for rides in this area or indeed anywhere else for that matter. None of us are particularly quick and have all mainly been riding for under a year.