How important are good quality road shoes?

Samvan77
Samvan77 Posts: 85
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all, I am a newbie who have just invested in a decent road bike to start cycling. The next step now is find the right pedal and shoes. The local bike shop tried to sell me a pair of Specialized road shoes for a £100.00 excluding cleats and pedals - which to be honest I thought was a bit excessive. I am not looking to compete in any competitions but just cycle for the sheer enjoyment of it so therefore can not justify spending a £100 on a pair of shoes alone.

So this brings me to pose this question to you - How important is it to invest in an expensive pair of road cycling shoes? Does it make a big difference?

I looked around online and found these pair of shoes on Wiggle http://www.wiggle.co.uk/time-rxc-road-shoes-/ and was thinking of using it with a pair of http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-pd-r540 ... rt-pedals/

What do you think or recommend?

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    edited December 2012
    IME it is worth getting a good pair.

I started out with Sports Direct stuff and quickly realised they were false economy.

The soles need to offer good support and I have now ended up with carbon soled ones (Giro Factor) although this is not essential.

It is also worth getting some that have adjustability in the tops too (so at least 2 straps across them) and if you can get ones with a ratchet system or similar even better as these give a good secure fit with almost infinite settings.

You can get decent stuff from lesser known brands e.g. DHB (Wiggle) for reasonable money.

Finally never buy without trying on as sizes and fit vary enormously between makes and models.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    The ones that fit best are the ones you want.