Why do time trial bikes have gears?

lotus49
lotus49 Posts: 763
edited January 2013 in Amateur race
Why do time trial bikes for flat time trial courses have gears?

As far as I see it, the only real purpose for gears is climbing or on a course where there is a lot of slowing down and speeding up, which seems to be unusual to say the least. I cannot see the advantage of having gears on a course that is basically flat. Can someone enlighten me?

Comments

• Riders may want to change their cadence during the session so gear changes are necessary. However some people do do time trials on single speeds though, hope that helps.
    Ben
  • wind can be a 2 gear difference for me either side of the one I want to be in.
  • lotus49
    u05harrisb wrote:
    Riders may want to change their cadence during the session so gear changes are necessary. However some people do do time trials on single speeds though, hope that helps.
    Ben

As you can probably tell, I'm no expert in time trialling but I would have thought that the increased drivetrain efficiency would be quite a big advantage. Is it common to change cadence a lot? Is it a factor of tiredness towards the end of the time trial or is there another reason?
    xscreamsuk wrote:
    wind can be a 2 gear difference for me either side of the one I want to be in.

That is a good point that I hadn't considered. On a still day would you still want to use gears?
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    If you have a TT bike with no gears then its use is rather limited to flat one way courses. I've not yet done a TT where I haven't had to change gear by at least two sprockets either way. A few I could have got away with one gear but would not have been as quick.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • Ber Nard
    Ber Nard Posts: 827
    lotus49 wrote: