First three rides - Really enjoying my bike

Danny_B9
Danny_B9 Posts: 55
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
Well I have had my bike for around three weeks now, I have had a week off ill and used the bike a couple times for commuting to GF's house which is 7 mile there and 7 mile back and I have manged to get in three reasonable rides with my mate who has also just started.

I can say I am really enjoying riding my bike, Got myself a cannondale supersix and once christmas has come I will have finally built up enough gear to go out for more rides making sure I am well enough equipped and comfortable.

SO I need a little bit of feedback from the following of how my first three rides have gone as I have no experience to what sort of avergae speeds etc you guys are hitting, obviously weather and terrain play a part etc. On the following rides I have not been going flat out, it is really flat round here in lincolnshire so no hills on these routes but it was pretty windy on all three occasions.

Ride 1: 24.99 miles, Duration 1 hour 30 mins, average speed 16.6mph, max speed 27.8mph
-The ride felt good, took some getting used to clipping in at junctions which we tried to avoid but took a wrong turning anyway and my lower back about half way into the ride started playing making pushing through wind really hard work.

Ride 2: 19.79 miles, Duration 1 hour 12 mins, average speed 16.5mph, max speed 29.0mph
-This ride was the day after the first ride so kept it a little shorter as my lower back hurt the first time (positioning, seat etc needed adjusting) and my mates knees hurt so he also needed to do a little adjusting.
-Did not have time to adjust the seat and thought maybe my lower back hurt due to first ride but it came back about half way into this ride so that indicated maybe i need to adjust my positioning etc for next ride.