Opinions on Carrera Vulcan

Gamblor
Gamblor Posts: 84
edited December 2012 in MTB buying advice
My first post on this forum, although I've lurked alot in the last month or so.

Bit of bike history, basically I'm a novice who knows practically nothing about mountain biking. This is reflected in my current bike, an Apollo FS26 :D

I bought the Apollo to replace a bike that was stolen as I need a bike for work and money was extremely tight at the time. That was about 4 years ago, I rode it at least 3-4 times a week for about a year and then stopped, not for any particular reason, it has just served its purpose for me really and I gradually lost interest.

It then spent the next year on my balcony open to the elements. I then started going to the gym for a while in an effort to loose weight, and after persevering with that for 2 months or so I became sick of the sight of the place and decided to try and just cycle everywhere if possible as a means of keeping fit, as I enjoy it much more.

These last 6 weeks or so I've been riding everywhere I can, and thoroughly enjoying it again. Needless to say, the Apollo (which was god awful to begin with) hasn't taken to this renewed interest well, and I feel it's on its last legs. I contemplated putting it in for a comprehensive service at the local bike shop but I'd be looking at £35-£50 excluding parts and the more I thought about it, the more I thought of the old saying "You can't polish a turd"

I'm not an enthusiast (yet!) like alot of you here, I really just wanted something to get from A-B be that via road, grass or woodlands and it's evident that the Apollo isn't it.

Long story short I've decided to upgrade, and after alot of searching a second hand Carrera Vulcan was named time and time again as the best value for money for my needs, both on this forum and general google searches as a whole.

I've arranged to buy one off Gumtree (I'll be going to collect it Saturday).

I'm mainly asking a couple of questions here really: