NEWBIE Carbon Fibre Frame Qs

BRM_
BRM_ Posts: 52
edited December 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi all, im new to the site. I currently have a 2011 Trek 8500, im looking into buying a carbon frame and making a custom bike, could someone reccomend a frame for me, has anyone bought any off of eBay which are £300-£400?

Any other advice would be great, is it really worth me doing this?

Ben.

Comments

• I am still a newbie myself but i wouldn't touch a carbon frame from ebay unless it was a reputable brand. On one 456 carbons are very popular and can be had brand new for 400 quid depending on size and choice of colour.

Having said that a quick google of the name brought this thread up.

viewtopic.php?p=16730526
  • BRM_
    Thanks for your response, from what i have read in the link they dont seem to bad. I want to make a hybrid so hopefully these will be ok?

Ben
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Plenty of people have bought from China - they seem ok.
    Personally I wouldn't - too much hassle if something does go wrong.
    Especially when you can get an On One Whippet for less. Especially if you like yellow.
    http://www.on-one.co.uk/i/q/FROOCWHND/o ... aled_frame
    But why a hybrid?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • BRM_
    Thanks for your input. I have a Mountain bike so i fancy a road/commuter to work etc. Am i doing this wrong? I like a nice bit of carbon and something light/quick will do me nicely.
  • cooldad
    Then get a road bike.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    ^^ this

Road bike is a much better shout.

I had one of the carbon MTB frames from eBay though, was good, would definitely have another, but would probably just get a Whippet if it was close on price.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812